Product claims may differ from country to country based on regulations and product approvals. Please contact your country representative for further details.

»  Search

 


Advanced search



Diseases of the thyroid

Thyroid diseases rank among the most frequent medical conditions. As a result, they do not only affect the quality of life of the individual patient but also impose considerable cost on society as a whole. Depending on iodine supply, or lack thereof, up to 50% of the total population experience an enlargement of the thyroid gland, also known as goiter.

Nodular alterations are found in 5 to 25% of the population, with the frequency increasing in line with age.

Hyperactivity of the thyroid gland (hyperthyroidism) occurs with a prevalence of approx. 0.5 to 2%. In regions with iodine shortage, thyroid autonomy is the dominant condition while Graves’ disease (exophthalmic goiter) is more frequent in areas with normal or abundant iodine supply.

Thyroid insufficiency (hypothyroidism) is found in approx. 0.25 to 1.1% of the population. In many cases, this condition is caused by an autoimmune process.
(Autoimmune [Hashimoto’s] thyroiditis).

Carcinomas of the thyroid occur in 10 to 30 per million people, accounting for 0.5 to 1.5% of all cancerous diseases. In 80% of all cases, these are differentiated thyroid carcinomas with a relatively good prognosis, provided the disease is diagnosed at an early stage and carefully followed up.

Graves’ disease is an autoimmune thyroid disease that is characterized by the clinical symptoms of goiter, tachycardia and exophthalmus (abnormal protrusion of the eyeballs). From a differential diagnosis point of view, Graves’ disease must be distinguished from the functional autonomy of the thyroid since the former can initially be treated by the application of drugs while the latter should be treated by surgery or radioiodine therapy. The measurement of the TSH receptor antibody concentration (TRAK) is key to detecting and adequately treating Graves’ disease.
Thermo Scientific B·R·A·H·M·S developed TRAK human, a method using human recombinant TSH receptors and detecting almost every patient with Graves’ disease. This ensures that a greater number of patients can be adequately treated at an early stage. 

Hashimoto’s thyroiditis is another autoimmune disease of the thyroid gland. The destruction of thyroid tissue ultimately causes hypothyroidism characterized by a multitude of metabolic symptoms.

For all these diseases, measurement of in-vitro parameters is key to diagnosis, differential diagnosis and clinical decisions to be made in the course of the condition.

Thermo Scientific B·R·A·H·M·S is a market leader for a variety of tests, such as the TSH receptor antibody test (TRAK).

B·R·A·H·M·S GmbH is a member of
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Nuklearmedizin (DGN) (German Society of Nuclear Medicine)

Additional links

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Endokrinologie (DGE) (German Society of Endocrinology)
European Thyroid Association (ETA)
The American Thyroid Association (ATA)
Latin American Thyroid Society (LATS)


 Manual Assays
    radioactivenon radioactive
 Automated Assays

RIA - Radio Immuno Assay
LIA - Luminescence Immuno Assay
EIA - Enzyme Immuno Assay
KRYPTOR - Time Resolved Amplified Cryptate Emission (TRACE-Technology)
us - ultrasensitive

** under development

Product claims may differ from country to country based on regulations and product approvals. Please contact your country representative for further details.

»  Suche

 


Erweiterte Suche



Schilddrüsenerkrankungen

Schilddrüsenerkrankungen zählen zu den häufigsten Gesundheitsstörungen überhaupt und stellen daher neben der individuellen Bedeutung für den betroffenen Patienten einen erheblichen Kostenfaktor für die Gesellschaft dar. In Abhängigkeit von der Jodversorgung liegt bei bis zu 50% der Bevölkerung eine Vergrößerung der Schilddrüse (Struma) vor.

Knotige Veränderungen sind in 5- 25% nachzuweisen, mit steigender Häufigkeit mit dem Alter.

Eine Schilddüsenüberfunktion (Hyperthyreose) findet sich mit einer Prävalenz von ca. 0,5- 2%, wobei in jodarmen Regionen eine Autonomie der Schilddrüse und in Regionen mit normaler oder reichlicher Jodversorgung der  Morbus Basedow pathogenetisch vorherrschend ist.

Schilddrüsenunterfunktionen (Hypothyreosen) zeigen sich mit einer Häufigkeit von 0,25- 1,1%; die Ursache ist häufig ein autoimmuner Prozess. 
( Autoimmunthyreoditis).

Schilddrüsenkarzinome treten mit einer Inzidenz von 10- 30 pro einer Million Einwohner auf und machen damit 0,5- 1,5% aller Krebserkrankungen aus. Zu 80% liegt hier ein differenziertes Schilddrüsenkarzinom vor, das bei rechtzeitiger Diagnose und sorgfältiger Nachsorge eine relativ gute Prognose aufweist.

Morbus Basedow ist eine Autoimmunerkrankung der Schilddrüse, die  sich klinisch durch die Symptome Struma, Tachykardie und Exophthalmus manifestiert. Differenzialdiagnostisch ist der Morbus Basedow von der funktionellen Autonomie zu unterscheiden, da der Morbus Basedow zunächst medikamentös behandelt werden kann, während die funktionelle Autonomie eher einer Operation bzw. Radiojodtherapie zugeführt werden sollte. Für die richtige Erkennung und Behandlung des Morbus Basedow übernimmt die Messung der TSH-Rezeptor-Antikörper-Konzentration (TRAK) die zentrale Schlüsselfunktion.
Thermo Scientific B·R·A·H·M·S hat mit dem TRAK human ein Verfahren entwickelt, das auf mit humanem rekombinant hergestellten  TSH-Rezeptoren basiert und nahezu jeden Morbus Basedow-Patienten erkennt. Auf diese Weise wird ermöglicht, mehr Patienten einer frühzeitigen Therapie zuzuführen. 

Die Hashimoto-Thyreoditis ist ebenfalls eine Autoimmunerkrankung der Schilddrüse. Die Gewebedestruktion der Schilddrüse führt letztendlich zur Hypothyreose, die durch eine Vielzahl verschiedenster Stoffwechselsymptome gekennzeichnet wird.

Bei allen genannten Krankheiten spielt die Bestimmung der in vitro Parameter eine zentrale Rolle für Diagnose, Differenzialdiagnose und klinische Entscheidungen im weiteren Krankheitsverlauf.

Für bestimmte Teste - beispielsweise den Test für TSH-Rezeptor-Antikörper (TRAK) - ist Thermo Scientific B·R·A·H·M·S marktführend.

Die B·R·A·H·M·S GmbH ist Mitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nuklearmedizin (DGN)

Weitere Links:
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Endokrinologie (DGE)
European Thyroid Association (ETA)
The American Thyroid Association (ATA)
Latin American Thyroid Society (LATS)


 Manuelle oder Handassays
    radioaktivnicht radioaktiv
 instrumentenbasierte Assays

RIA - Radio Immuno Assay
LIA - Luminescence Immuno Assay
EIA - Enzyme Immuno Assay
KRYPTOR - Time Resolved Amplified Cryptate Emission (TRACE-Technology)
us - ultrasensitive

** under development